Playing Catch Up AGAIN

6 Dec

Like I said, attention span of a mouse. Or another animal that can’t sit long enough to write a blog post. In sum, here is another catching up post because I have not posted in over a month. Part of my problem is that my laptop is a piece of shit. The battery is dead to the point that if I unplugged the laptop from the wall, the computer would die in two and a half minutes. Also, I have to connect the computer to a little vent fan thingie because if I don’t, it overheats and dies. So instead of accepting any responsibility for being a lazy blogger, I am going to blame my laptop. I want a new one but it is hard to buy a new laptop when you don’t have a job and are mooching off your man. Some part of me doesn’t feel right telling the guy that I want a laptop for Christmas and adding that it can’t be a Dell (because they are shitty) and I would prefer a $1,200 Apple MacBook Pro.

Anyway – like I said, still jobless. I have probably submitted something close to 150 applications but still nada. The problem is that I don’t really want to do law anymore but it is kind of the only thing I am qualified to do (or appears to be the only thing I am qualified to do because if employers knew me, they would know I am qualified to do most things). I’ve been trying to focus on copywriting jobs at Advertising and PR firms, but apparently a lot of people want those jobs and have experience doing those jobs and therefore, have a leg up on my application. I’ve also been applying to jobs at Universities because I was super good at college AND free tuition. However, it is looking more and more like I have to suck it up and take the bar out here. Not having a job is boring. All I do all day is make the bed, wash dishes, play with the cats, apply to jobs, and eat. I guess I am bad at being unemployed because I am sure there are people out there that would use this time to write the next Great American novel or learn an instrument or become fluent in Mandarin. I guess I need to stop sleeping till noon and eating cookies for breakfast.

While San Diego has taken some getting used to (HI NO CHINESE DELIVERY PLACES ANYWHERE EOIOIFJGIJBGSJDBGLJSDNFIAUHFIUPEHF), I am starting to really like it out here. It is by no means New York City, but it has its own special qualities. I have been dragging the guy around to do activities because I am easily bored and have no friends here, and it has been a good time.

We have done whale watching which isn’t that fun. In my mind, whale watching involved like “Free Willy” levels of whale/people interaction, but the most I saw was a hump and some air blowing of three whales hanging out. I think they were gray whales but I don’t even remember. Also, I fell asleep for a good chunk of that excursion. I did get to see real live seals though, which was much cooler than seeing 1/36 of a whale.

image(13)

They are fat and lazy so right now we have a lot in common.

 

 

 

 

 

We also did a wine and painting night with the “Wine and Palette Co.” out here and that was actually a LOT of fun. They had the class at West Coast Cafe in Imperial Beach and before we talk about painting, I should talk about what I really go anywhere for and that is food. The sandwiches here were awesome, and I am not even that big on sandwiches. Also, Imperial Beach is very cute and I am starting to become a big fan. Anyway, the painting class was cool, Sam had beer, I had Diet Coke and Mexican hot chocolate, and we learned that Sam is a better painter than me.

image(16)His painting is on the right and looks much more similar to what the final product was supposed to look like. My painting looks like an angry 6th grader, who forgot to take their Ritalin, threw some paint on a canvas. I think I’ll send it to one of my parents or grandma because they are all people who are legally obligated (it is somewhere in the Constitution) to adore anything made by my hands.

We have also done a zoo trip. If it was up to me, we would probably go to the San Diego Zoo every week because animals are cool, but the guy is less enthused about the zoo life than I am. I am debating buying a membership for $99 because it means you can go to the zoo for free whenever you like and that means I could go pet goats whenever whimsy struck.

image(14)

 

 

 

 

 

This past weekend, we played Three’s Company with one of the guy’s friends who was sort of homeless given that the Navy is weird and can make you sort of homeless sometimes, so he stayed with us. We did some bar hopping Saturday night for North Park’s “30 on 30th” which basically means a bunch of bars and restaurants offer specials on the 30th of every month in that particular neighborhood. North Park was ranked one of the top hipster neighborhoods by Forbes this year and I can see why. Naturally, I am sort of partial to it because as much as I protest, I clearly have some hipster proclivities. One of the places we stopped at was The Office, which was very cute and Mad Men-themed and I am now a fan.

image(11)Obviously, the drinks were too fancy for a 28 year old woman such as myself (I prefer my alcohol hidden beneath sugar and fruity flavors) but it was still a good time.

On Sunday, we went to the SoNo Chili Fest which was also really fun. I did buy a chili bowl so that I could sample all the chili but the guy ended up eating all my chili because I am a baby and can not handle spicy foods. Even the chilis that were labeled “mild” were too rich for my tastes. I don’t even put pepper in my food because I think it burns, so I guess I should have known this but I think the guy was happy with all the chili thrown his way. We also came across the Devilicious food truck, which I had never heard of before, but the guy’s friend explained to me that it was a big deal and had a Food Network shout out, so I then became excited about something I knew zip about.

image(12)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that is the long and the short of the last couple of weeks. I am going to seriously try and be better at blogging, if not for my VAST audience and my own mental sanity (unemployment is BORING). I am also going to try and start waking up earlier and being better at being unemployed (i.e., learn to be productive), so we shall see.

And as a last word, look how pretty it is out here…

image(15)

2 Responses to “Playing Catch Up AGAIN”

  1. Dante December 6, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m not sure where you are on Seals vs. Whales, but there is an awesome seal-spotting spot in La Jolla, on the cove. I also highly recommend the cave-kayak tour, weather permitting. While you’re in town, check out my dad’s restaurant on Pearl Street, Cafe Milano. He’s a Jersey transplant, best Italian you’ll have out there.

    • kendra0628 December 7, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Yesssss I have heard of this cove and am intent on getting out there. And yes, I already told Sam that we have to do the cave-kayak tour (even though I am afraid because of sharks and how they obviously attack kayaks 😉 ). Def put your dad’s place on my list too – I will tell him you sent me and I am dying for some really great pasta!

Leave a Reply

