In the Beginning…

4 Sep

First post. After a lot of suggestions by friends that I should start a blog (this isn’t me being an egomaniac, it is a fact), I have finally caved and started a real blog about my personal life – not just one with pictures of my sister sleeping.

The creation of this blog coincides with some huge life changes that I have been contemplating, discussing, and planning all summer. And, contrary to my general inclination to blab all of the thoughts in my head, I kept these big decisions pretty quiet.

Before I go into making big announcements and explaining the title of this blog, a little about me. I am a 28 year old attorney from New Jersey. I really love cats and food, and posting pictures all over Facebook of same. I am a proud University of Miami alum, I don’t care at all about my law school, I put ketchup on rice, sometimes I forget to put deodorant on, and I have a cool sister who sleeps a lot.

It is also worth mentioning that I have a really wonderful boyfriend who is in the Navy, whom I love very much. We have been through some ups, downs, and movie level types of drama, but have come out better for it, I think. He is hot, he is funny, he is super smart, and he will one day give me the biracial babies I have always desired. He also does a really good Robert DeNiro impersonation and I have caught him eating dog treats more than once.

Icebreakers aside, today was a BIG, nervewracking day for me because I turned in my resignation letter at work. For the past ALMOST three years, I have worked for the State of New Jersey. But, as of October 4, 2013, I will be part of those unemployment statistics that FoxNews randomly broadcasts to America, while reminding its audience that the figures are Obama’s fault.

The reason I am totally OK with leaving a job with NO pending job in the future is because Navy boo has professed his undying love (I’m dramatizing) and asked me to move out to San Diego with him so that we can ditch the long distance life and share a zip code. We have signed a lease and I move out to San Diego (unless Navy boo dies or dumps me….knock on what I think is wood that neither of those things happen) on October 14, 2013.

Navy boo and I will be living in what I am told is the lovely San Diego neighborhood of Golden Hill. All I know is that there isn’t a lot of rape in the area (thank you crime statistics website), the San Diego Zoo is in walking distance, and there’s a Chinese place pretty nearby that has roasted pork buns and delivers.

sd-tour-1

Since I won’t be employed, and since I am not really even sure that I want to look for another lawyer job, I figured a blog was something to do to occupy my time while I am mooching off of Navy boo and trying to figure out the whole employment thing. I also thought that it would be a convenient place to document my transition from the East Coast to the West Coast, as visits to California have made it very clear that Cali is NOT the Tri-State Area.

So, that’s the news. I’m really excited and also sort of terrified, but in a good way. I have random freakouts, and also random daydreams that I will move there and be discovered on a day trip to LA. Either way, I’m happy it doesn’t have to be a secret anymore because I am TERRIBLE at keeping them and hope that people actually read this because (1) you jerks suggested it, (2) writing a blog that nobody reads sounds depressing on “jump off a bridge” levels, and (3) I am a social media whore and need the validation.

I don’t have a cute way to end my posts yet. I could be a nerd and go with “You Stay Classy San Diego.” I haven’t ruled it out, but I don’t know if I am ready to go there yet. So for now, I will just say BYE.

12 Responses to “In the Beginning…”

  1. EJM September 4, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    I knew these things already. I am excited for you. Free Willy.

    • kendra0628 September 4, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      That is because you are special.

  2. anthula September 4, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I’m happy , excited and totally thrilled for you! I think Cali suits you. Congrats!

    • kendra0628 September 4, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      Thanks Anthula. I’m scared shitless but also super excited. I feel like Jade would appreciate Cali as well šŸ˜‰ Also, your e-mail address is hilarious.

  3. Annie September 4, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    Wow your really good at blogging.!,…. Always funny lil cuz !! Follow your dreams Kendra!!!

  4. justine September 4, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Wow! So happy for you and your hot Navy Boo. Btw, Lou and I love love love Cali so we might try and mooch off of you for a place to crash šŸ™‚

    • kendra0628 September 4, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      Justine, the couch is gonna be fancy. It is my goal – fluffy with pullouts. You are welcome to it šŸ˜‰ and thank you!!

  5. Amanduhh September 4, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Are you bringing the cats?

  6. simplyunassuming September 11, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Hello from another Kendra. Shaking your life up is great, getting out of the tri-state even better. You will love San Diego. And enjoy being unemployed, I have for the past 9 months (allthough freakouts are becoming more frequent! )

    • kendra0628 September 16, 2013 at 4:26 am #

      HI other Kendra…thanks šŸ™‚ I am a little nervous but think it’s a good thing, too. Being unemployed is the SCARIER part, haha good to know other people are also freaking out about it šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

